new exceptional x-men series featured image
Comic News

Emma Frost and Kitty Pryde to Lead a New Team in Exceptional X-Men

The new Exceptional X-Men series will team vets Emma Frost and Kitty Pryde with mutants with new and emerging abilities


Marvel added it’s final flagship title to its upcoming From The Ashes event in the fallout of the events of the Fall of X. The new Exceptional X-Men series will team veteran members of the X-Men with mutants with new, emerging abilities. Veteran members Emma Frost and Kitty Pryde will lead this new squad while providing tutelage to these young members with emerging abilities — the metallic and whip-wielding Bronze, the emotion-stirring Axo, and the stealth-skilled fighter Melee. The series will be written by Eve Ewing with art by Carmen Carnero and is slated to release on September 4th.


From the press release:

Written by acclaimed author Eve L. Ewing and drawn by superstar Marvel Stormbreaker artist Carmen Carnero, EXCEPTIONAL X-MEN will be the final flagship X-Title to launch in the upcoming From the Ashes era. The series will introduce three all-new mutants who turn to Kitty and Emma for help with their emerging gifts: the metallic and whip-wielding Bronze, the emotion-stirring Axo, and the stealth-skilled fighter Melee! Under Kitty and Emma’s tutelage, they’ll learn not just how to survive—but to thrive! But Kitty and Emma haven’t always seen eye-to-eye, and they’ll also have lessons to teach each other, as they take up the call once more—for the children!


EXCEPTIONAL X-MEN begins with Kitty trying to get as far away from all things X as she possibly can. After the actions she took during Fall of X, Kitty craves normalcy and takes a job as a regular-degular bartender. She’s definitely NOT getting ready to head up an all-new team of wayward young mutants while avoiding the watchful gaze of Emma Frost. Nothing but work, dating and staving off depression. That’s it. Let’s see how long it lasts…


exceptional x-men #1 main coverEXCEPTIONAL X-MEN #1
Written by EVE L. EWING
Art and Cover by CARMEN CARNERO
On Sale 9/4


Exceptional X-Men is the third and final flagship title Marvel is releasing in the fallout of the Fall of X event. It will join X-Men (from Jed MacKay and Ryan Stegman) and Uncanny X-Men (from Gail Simone and David Marquez) in leading the other X-titles in new direction.


“Longtime fans of Kitty Pryde can count on the kinds of adventures you expect from her as a classic favorite, while I hope new and old readers alike will get to love this all-new team of young mutants. Kitty, the one-time kid sister figure of the X-Men, has to reckon with her own memories—good and bad—of being a child of Xavier as she navigates a role as leader and mentor for a new generation of mutants who are trying to make their way in a time of crisis.”

Eve Ewing


“The story Eve brought up really hooked me from the beginning,” Carnero said. “I found it very interesting to see Kitty away from the X-Men and trying to live a normal life in Chicago, but finding herself with young mutants who have to deal with this post-Krakoa world and Emma’s plans.”

Carmen Carnero



Exceptional X-Men #1 releases to comic book shops everywhere and digitally on September 4, 2024. As always, check back here at The Comic Book Spot for your news and reviews of all things comics.

Related posts

Marvel Solicits for July 2024 Revealed

Theodis Wright

Marvel Comics June 2024 Solicitations

Theodis Wright

Skybound Reveals a First Look at Transformers #3

Theodis Wright