Comic News

2024 Eisner Award Nominations Announced

The 2024 Eisner Award Nominations Is Led By Publishers Image And DC Comics


Comic-Con International, the non-profit behind San Diego Comic-Con, revealed the nominees for this year’s Will Eisner Comic Industry Award, otherwise known as the Eisners. In the 2024 Eisner Award nominations, we find DC Comics and Image Comics leading the pack with 21 and 25 total nominations, respectively (note, these numbers consist of solo and shared nominations). Other publishers receiving nominations this year include Fantagraphics, IDW, and Marvel Comics.

Some of the creators honored with 2024 Eisner Award nominations includes Kelly Thompson, who leads the group with a total of 5 nominations, including her work on Birds of Prey and Black Cloak. Tom King, Dan Mora, Ryan Norh, and Mariko and Jillian Tamaki also received nominations for their contributions to the comic book industry.

Voting will soon begin with prospective voters coming from other creators, academics, and other professionals in the comic book industry. Members of the press do not vote in the Eisner Awards. The winners will be announced during San Diego Comic-Con on July 26th.

Below are some of the 2024 Eisner Award nominations. The complete list of nominees can be found here. As always, stay tuned to The Comic Book Spot for all of your news and reviews in the world of comic books and the comic book industry.


Best Short Story

“Friendship Is Forever,” by Sam Maggs and Keisha Okafor, in My Little Pony 40th Celebration (IDW)

“The Kelpie,” by Becky Cloonan, in Four Gathered on Christmas Eve (Dark Horse)

“The Lady of the Lake,” by Joe S. Farrar and Guilherme Grandizolli, in BUMP: A Horror Anthology #3 (BUMP)

“Talking to a Hill,” by Larry Hancock and Michael Cherkas, in Comics for Ukraine (Zoop)

“World’s Finest, Part 1,” by Tom King and Belen Ortega, in Wonder Woman #3 (DC)


Best Single Issue/One-Shot

Horologist, by Jared Lee and Cross (Grim Film)

Nightwing #105, by Tom Taylor and Bruno Redondo (DC)

Star Trek: Day of Blood—Shax’s Best Day, by Ryan North and Derek Charm (IDW)

Superman 2023 Annual, by Joshua Williamson and others (DC)

Sweet Paprika: Black, White, & Pink, by Mirka Andolfo and others (Image)


Best Continuing Series

Birds of Prey, by Kelly Thompson and Leonardo Basto Romero (DC)

Nightwing, by Tom Taylor and Bruno Redondo (DC Comics)

Shazam! by Mark Waid and Dan Mora (DC)

Transformers, by Daniel Warren Johnson (Image Skybound)

Wonder Woman, by Tom King and Daniel Sampere (DC)


Best Limited Series

The Cull, by Kelly Thompson and Mattia De Iulis (Image)

Godzilla: Here There Be Dragons, by Frank Tieri and Inaki Miranda (IDW)

Kill Your Darlings, by Ethan S. Parker, Griffin Sheridan, and Robert Quinn (Image)

PeePee PooPoo, by Caroline Cash (Silver Sprocket)

Superman: Lost, by Christopher Priest and Carlo Pagulayan (DC)


Best New Series

Beneath the Trees Where Nobody Sees, by Patrick Horvath (IDW)

Black Cloak, by Kelly Thompson and Meredith McClaren (Image)

Local Man, by Tim Seeley and Tony Fleecs (Image)

Phantom Road, by Jeff Lemire and Gabriel Hernández Walta (Image)

Somna: A Bedtime Story, by Becky Cloonan and Tula Lotay (DSTLRY)


Related posts

Marvel Comics Releases Partial Solicitations for March 2023

Theodis Wright

DC Comics Announces “DC Compact Comics”

Theodis Wright

BOOM Studios Announces LAWFUL from Greg Pak and Diego Galindo

Theodis Wright